Black and White!

November 4, 2010 § 2 Comments

When I was about six and my sister was about three, our mom used to buy bread from a man who came to your door and showed you his wares. This man happened to be African-American. He would stand in our hall and talk for a few minutes as he made his sale.

My three-year old sister decided after seeing this man, to celebrate the occasion of his visit by skipping joyously back and forth in the adjacent living room (separated by a paper-thin wall), yelling “Black and white! Black and white! Black and white!” over and over at the top of her lungs. The entire time he was there.

What an interesting few minutes of conversation that must have been for my mom.

No one in my family is racist, so after he left my mom said, “Allison! I was so embarrassed! Never say that again when he comes over! That is VERY bad!”

But Allison just giggled triumphantly over her accomplishment not only of detecting this phenomenon in our home, but also of masterfully drawing enormous attention to herself. It was extremely clear from the look in her eyes that she had discovered a form of communication she would have to explore further.

My mom looked terrified.

How about you, do you have any embarrassing stories from childhood you’d like to share?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Black and White!

  • sara says:

    Oh my. Do I ever. The problem is picking just one that’s worth bringing attention to. My memories from back then are pretty hazy even though I’m still pretty young haha.

    I think one of the incidents that tops them all off happened in 4th grade math class. I’m a big advocate of propping my knees on the table/desk in front of me when I sit in chairs, even to this day. Yes, I even do this at the office. Not very professional, but it’s how I’m most comfortable.

    Well, this particular time, my teacher got a little bit angry with me for sitting like that (I think she may have told me previously not to sit like that), so she came up to me (I sat in the front row) and drew faces on my knees with chalk in front of the entire class.

    I was pretty mortified.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Black and White! at The Song of Solomon.

meta

